311 Online|   District Residents|   Businesses|   Visitors|   Online Services|   Agency Directory|  


Office of Zoning

  Office of Zoning

DC Zoning History

Washington was one of the first cities to develop a comprehensive zoning ordinance after New York broke the ground in 1916. This began with the Zoning Act of March 1, 1920, which established zoning and the Zoning Commission in the District.

The Zoning Commission consisted of the three Commissioners (the Board of Commissioners) who divided up the various departments in the District and ran the City. In addition, two other statutory members of the federal government were also appointed, the first being the officer in charge of the buildings and grounds of the District of Columbia (which in 1934 became the officer in charge of the National Park Service) and secondly, the Superintendent of the US Capitol Building and Grounds (which became the Architect of the Capitol.)

Click Here To Visit The Official Website of the Government of the District of Columbia Government of the District of Columbia
John A. Wilson Building
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004
Contact Webmaster